The baseball Shoreline finals started off with intensity from both teams under the bright lights. Both pitchers, MacGuire O’Sullivan (Coginchaug) and Noah Budzik (Cromwell), pitched a complete game. Shoreline Pitcher of the Year O’Sullivan had six strikeouts and gave up four hits, losing his first game of the season (8-1 record). Budzik had 10 strikeouts.

 The game was scoreless until the fifth when Cromwell’s Nick McCaleb hit a double and moved to third on a single by Austin Roy. McCaleb scored on a squeeze bunt by Jared Valentin–the only run of the game.

 Cromwell held off Coginchaug through the seventh, earning the third consecutive Shoreline Championship for the Panthers.

 The Devils look to battle back in the first round of the Class M State Tournament today at 3:30 p.m., seeded eighth at home versus Oxford.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.